Rbdi 800X50Ad Tracking

Item Posts   

car vs car vs car

| 
bigdave11 bigdave11
New User | Posts: 2 | Joined: 03/13
Posted: 03/07/13
12:11 PM

I have the ability to purchase one of the three following cars.  Each has about the same milage (48,000-52,000) and are all within the +/- $27,000 range.  Except for appearance I have no general knowledge of either car. Taking everything into consideration who would recommend what?  Thanks, I really appreciate any input I can get.
...2008 Jaguar Vanden Plas
...2006 BMW 750Li
..2006 Mercedes CLS 500  

nole1 nole1
New User | Posts: 29 | Joined: 10/12
Posted: 03/08/13
04:53 AM

All are beautiful vehicles!  The Jaguar comes from the Ford era of ownership, so the reliability was higher than in years prior.  That said, look out for electrical issues.  Definitely the most "old world" look of the the bunch- a true classic.  

The BMW is the sportiest of the bunch.  Probably not as luxurious, but the difference isn't great.  

The Mercedes likely has the most cache of the three.  Beautiful car, and likely my choice of the three.

The question is, why do you want to spend that much on an older luxury car, when for the same money, you can buy a new mid-market car with more amenities today.  My sister-in-law has a 2006 Jaguar S-Type that's been a great car (100,000 miles on it now), but it has no navigation, no bluetooth, fewer airbags and no warranty.  

If you are financing a car that old, the finance charges would make it more expensive than a $35,000 new car, and you likely wouldn't have a decent warranty.  Unless you're turning the wrenches yourself, those cars can get real expensive real quick.  Just a brake job can cost a grand on some of those cars.  If you really want the lux cars, you might be better off leasing.  Full warranty, and maintenance is often covered.